Eco Girls: Saving The Trees, Chapter 1

The noise outside was crazy. The government was cutting down more trees…DURING SCHOOL HOURS!!
I stared at Logan. I could tell she was annoyed by the construction. I looked at Sarah. She covered her ears and tried figuring out what the teacher was saying.
Finally, we could go to unified arts. Today was art class. Sarah, Logan, and I started talking about the shortening of the trees in our county.
“We have to do something!” Logan said with anxiety.
“Yeah, we better do something or all of the trees will be gone! Got any ideas, Rachel?” Sarah exclaimed in a slow, yet excited, voice.
I started to think and scratched my head. “We should plant more trees,” I finally said.
Sierra overheard our conversation.
“But my daddy worked hard cutting down those trees to make more malls to make me happy!” She said in a stern voice.
“Sierra, do you even KNOW what’ll happen if all of the trees are gone?” said Sarah.
“We would die out!!” exclaimed Logan.
Before we even knew it, it was time to head back to our homeroom. Logan got on the computer and went on the newpaper’s website.
“Sarah! Rachel! Come look at this!!” Logan whispered shouted.
Sarah and I looked at each other, then got up and looked at the computer screen.

There was shocking headliner: 20 Trees Left In County
The article was even more shocking:
Only 20 trees left in our county. More and more trees are being removed from forests to make room for more and more malls. “We need to make more malls for people’s enjoyment!” says the Govenor.
I was too shocked to even finish reading it! I looked at who wrote it. David Trusler.*
Sierra walked over and saw the online article.
“YAY!! MORE MALLS!! I better make daddy a BIG thank you card!!” she said like she had just won a million bucks.

Logan, Sarah, and I exchanged serious looks. We had to plant more trees, now.

*Sierra’s dad is the guy who wrote it. And he’s controlling about the tree stuff.

3 comments on “Eco Girls: Saving The Trees, Chapter 1

Leave a Reply

